Tifos

I just had this horrible sensation that I am studying the wrong country. I keep reading these posts about how boring English football is and how its lost its atmosphere, and then this comes along:

"On the path of the lost CL Cup"

“On the path of the lost CL Cup” (click to play)

Borussia Dortmund did their Tifo today at their Westfalenstadion as the teams came out for the second leg of their Champions League quarterfinal. I remember from their group stage match against Arsenal last year that there is usually a pretty impressive banner that goes with the Tifo, but the reveal wasn’t as nearly as dramatic. I can’t see the MUFC fans pulling this off at Old Trafford as it might interfere with the viewing in the sky boxes (where people are really there to be seen than to watch the game anyway).

One of the best, and creepiest Tifos I’ve seen. Tifos are any large section displays often done by groups holding up coloured placards to make a design and show support for their team. The first one I remember seeing was one from the Opening of the 1984 LA Olympics – all the flags of the countries at the games, and I had no idea that it was such a big thing elsewhere.

There’s some interesting stuff going on in the Bundesliga these days. Better brush up on my deutch for a PhD. Auf wiedersehen!

Leave a Reply

